Home News Community News 2022 Scholarship Recipients Announced

2022 Scholarship Recipients Announced


The SEAoT Houston chapter is pleased to announce its 2022 scholarship recipients, who each received a $1250 cash grant. The scholarship applicants had very competitive qualifications. For the second time, the scholarship committee selected two candidates this year, presenting awards to Kripa Adhikari and Isabel Mlo.

Kripa Adhikari is a PhD candidate of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Houston working under Dr. Nakshatrala. Kripa received her bachelor’s degree from Tribhuvan University in Nepal. After finishing her undergraduate school, she worked as Civil Engineer for the Nepal government supervising the construction of earthquake resistant buildings. She then pursued her academic career through graduate studies in the USA conducting research on mechanical and thermal properties of materials.

“I am thankful to the SEAoT Houston committee for considering me and motivating me in the form of scholarship. I take this scholarship not just as a grant but as a huge motivation and promise to dedicate myself towards advancement of the Structural Engineering”

Isabel Mlo is a Ph.D. student and research assistant with the Zachry Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Texas A&M University. Her research deals with a building health study that utilizes both destructive and non-destructive testing techniques. Ultimately, her goal is to work on designing and monitoring energy net-zero structures. She is from Asheville, North Carolina, and grew up doing competitive gymnastics. She obtained her undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University while concurrently competing for the TAMU Gymnastics club team. In her undergraduate career, she also served as the TAMU Gymnastics safety officer and vice president. Currently, she is the President of the TGC, an organization that oversees collegiate club gymnastics across Texas and Oklahoma.

The SEAoT Houston scholarship page can be found at our website and is updated each year with any changes.